Posted by: Liana | December 27, 2008

Book I am Currently Reading

12 Principles for Surviving and Thriving at Work, Home, and School Brain Rules: 12 Principles for Surviving and Thriving at Work, Home, and School by John Medina

My review


I bought this book as a recommended read on twitter. It contains 12 brain rules. When I began I was hoping for help to better meet the needs of my students. I think I am on my way! So far I’ve learned that it is not possible to multi-task. With this information, I am sure my frequent lapses of memory (repeatedly…the other day I walked to the fridge TWICE, forgetting what I was supposed to get BOTH times, right after reading the recipe), I am sure that what I mistook for multi-tasking is really me focusing on one activity haphazardly while trying to complete another, also haphazardly. I also learned that exercise is rule #1. And as kids do worse and worse in school, we take away more and more of their exercise (in the form of recess, P.E. and shorter lunch periods).

View all my reviews.

Responses

  1. If you want to review the book for our site, it’s available for Kindle, so it does qualify.

    I thought it has long been known that a healthy body is one key to a healthy mind…

    Cheers,
    Trevas

  2. Sounds like a good book! What are the other 11 rules?


Leave a Reply

Categories

