Posted by: Liana | September 4, 2008

Out of the Mouth of Babes

Today’s lesson to fourth graders focused on emails. After teaching them the ins and outs of their webmail accounts I had them send me an email about a “small moment” in their lives. Something that they will never forget.All that I taught them seemed pretty inconsequential once I read this student’s email about the small moment in her life:

My small moment is when my brother came  home from the war. When he came down the stairs at the airport I started to cry. He was at war for 2 years and he is 20 years old. He picked me up and said, “I missed you the most.” I replied, “You are my best brother ever.” I started to cry hard and hard. That night I prayed to God to watch over him and the rest of them up in war. Last night I sat next to him and I said, “How as it in the war?” He turned to me and said, “It was weird and I did not like it.” I was glad that he was home and safe and sound.

Responses

  1. Out of the mouths of babes, indeed!

  2. heart strings connect through the words of small moments…you’re a great teacher Liana!

  3. Wow. After reading that I flashed back to what I was dealing with in 4th grade, nothing near what this child is dealing with…. Nothing is sadder than innocence lost. That the world is a scary place, that bad things can happen to people you love – and you could lose those things most precious to you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

