Posted by: Liana | August 28, 2008

Literacy Sites for Elementary

This year our school is really trying to support our students in literacy and math (aren’t we all?). Our students are fortunate to have a well-rounded education, complete with classes in art, PE, health, music, Hawaiian studies ad science. But we are making an extra effort to support our students in literacy and math.  So I am trying to do my part to introduce my students to tools and websites that they can access at home or in their classrooms. Here are just a few:

Storyline on Line

This website is brought to you by the Screen Actors Guild Foundation.  It’s an on-line streaming video program featuring actors reading children’s books aloud. And each book includes activities and lesson plans. And believe me, they have chosen some great books. My kids LOVE them! They are glued to the screen. And they are excited about reading along with the actors and actresses.

Starfall

This site says it is for first grade but it’s just perfect for K-2.  Today, my kindergarten students were intrigued, excited, and completely engrossed in the first section, ABCs. They had a blast. I had a hard time getting them to quit at the end of the period.

abcya.com

There are some ads on the sides of this link but the kids don’t pay attention to it. They are too busy scrolling down to their grade level (K-5). As far as math is concerned there are lots of fun activities for them. I like this site as a “fill in” for those who have finished their work and just need to keep busy.
I hope this helps. To me, as still a rookie elementary tech teacher, I welcome all the recommendations. These came to me via twitter and the elementarytechteachers.ning.com site. Nothing but the best from fellow educators.

Responses

  1. I love the SAG site, but I wish it would allow me to download the vids. In my school bandwidth is a precious, precious commodity.


Leave a Reply

Categories

