Posted by: Liana | August 9, 2008

Riding the Wave

   I started this blog (my third) 7 months ago, during my first year as an elementary tech teacher. I wanted to share what I was learning with others AND keep a record of my professional growth throughout the year(s). I spent last year trying to learn new applications (yes, photoshop elements was new to me) and web2.0 tools. I tried my darndest to integrate the curriculum with the classroom teachers. I strived to keep on top of all the administrative requirements (scope and sequence, curriculum maps, etc.). And now here I am starting a new school year. And still trying to learn new apps, new web2.0 tools (just created a ning site this morning). But now I’m adding to the pot by reading social networking/edtech related books such as, “Here Comes Everybody” by Clay Shirkey, “A Whole New Mind” by Daniel Pink, and “The World is Flat” by Thomas Friedman. “Blogs, Wikis, Podcasts…” by Will Richardson awaits (wishing I changed up the order a bit). Needless to say, my mind is a potpourri of thoughts, ideas, questions, concerns, and chaos. It’s dark in there. Full of random bits of information. But I guess it’s always darkest before the dawn. I’m waiting for the moment that everything starts making sense, coming together, and begins to F L O W. So I can ride that elusive wave of ecstasy. And I know it’s coming. I hear the possibilities. I know the puzzle pieces fit together, but the wait is excruciating.

    Whose idea was it to change career paths again? I was one of the fortunate few who knew what I wanted to do in the 10th grade. I knew I wanted to be a teacher. I just thought I would stay on the path of a high school Hawaiian Studies teacher. That transformed into a brief stint in the non profit sector then onto being an elementary Hawaiian immersion teacher, then a literacy resource teacher, and now a K-5 computer teacher. I already have 2 grandchildren! I should be in the twilight of my career, shouldn’t I? 

     But here I am, happy as a hawk (sorry, no larks in Hawai’i that i know of), glad to wake up at 4 am everyday and prepare for a new day of teaching and learning. And waiting for that elusive wave.

Responses

  1. I think if we don’t move the cheese, or move the mouse, then we become ineffective as teachers. We are in the line up.

  2. Hey Liana,

    It’s all about understanding the networked connections you can make for yourself and then translate to your students. Keep plugging away at it, and I hope you enjoy my book. –Will Richardson


Leave a Reply

Categories

